HISTORY

The history of Notre Dame Academy begins with the arrival of six pioneers in Jamalpur on October 31, 1949. They came from Cleveland, Ohio, USA. The names of the pioneers are: Sisters Mary St. Thomas, Magdela, Maris, Joelle, Lauretta, and Kieran. The pioneers began Notre Dame Academy on February 2, 1950, with 16 tiny tots. The classes were conducted in a temporary building in the premises.

The foundation stone for the present school building was laid on July 10, 1952. The construction was made possible by the generous donations the pioneer Sisters received from their students and benefactors in the United States. The building was blessed and dedicated on December 15, 1953 by Rt. Rev. A.F. Wildermuth SJ, Bishop of Patna. and inaugurated by the then chief minister of Bihar, Shree S.K. Sinha. To this day, this first school building stands as a landmark in Jamalpur.

Sister Mary St. Thomas is honoured as the founding principal of Notre Dame Academy. During her tenure of ten years as principal, the Academy developed into a first rate high school preparing students for the Senior Cambridge Examinations. The first batch of students appeared for their Senior Cambridge Examinations in 1956.

An overview of the history shows that during the past decades., the Academy has taken many giant strides with the collaborative efforts of devoted Principals, Sisters, Teachers, Parents and Well-wishers. A Montessori House of children was opened in 1968. An auditorium block was constructed in 1974 that gave a new impetus to co-curricular activities. The school was upgraded in 2001 to Higher Secondary with Plus Two. As the Academy marches ahead to new heights of excellence, we keep our focus on the motto of the school

"GLORY TO GOD AND SERVICE TO ALL"